The Doctoral Degree in Arts and Humanities, whose development and organization are overseen by the School of Humanities and Social Sciences, is framed within the University of Navarra Doctoral School, established under the provisions set out by RD 99/2011, which provides planning, coordination and monitoring of doctoral programs.

This program is adapted to the European Higher Education Area and meets the requirements indicated in Royal Decree 1393, dated October 29, 2007, which regulates official university education. It was evaluated by the National Agency for Quality Assessment and Accreditation (ANECA) and approved by the Council of Universities. This official degree program is registered in the Registry of Universities, Centers and Qualifications.

It has been adapted to the verification procedures stipulated in RD 99, dated January 28, 2011, which regulates official doctoral education (BOE, Official State Bulletin, February 10, 2011); it has received a favorable report from ANECA and a positive assessment from the Council of Universities.

The History and Literature programs were awarded the Citation of Quality by the Ministry of Education and Science in the year 2006 (references MCD2006-00121 and MCD2006-00119, respectively), and the Literature program received the Citation of Excellence last year (reference MEE 2011-0136).

The School of Humanities and Social Sciences at the University of Navarra was founded in 1955 with the History and Geography study programs. From the moment the School and its different specialist programs were created, the professors have made a special effort to introduce students to research work. For that reason, and in accordance with the legislation in force (the Law of July 29, 1943, regulating university education, and the Decree of June 25, 1954, regulating the procedure for awarding doctoral degrees at all universities), the School began early on to offer doctoral studies, supervise the first minor theses (the first three during the 1962-1963 academic year) and defend the first doctoral theses, the very first of which was in the History Division and was defended during the 1963-1964 academic year.

Since then, the doctoral programs offered by the University of Navarra and the School of Humanities and Social Sciences have been adapted in accordance with general legislation, including the provisions of Act 14 of August 4, 1970 (the General Education Act), and later on, the Organic Act on University Reform of 1983, and especially RD 56/2005, RD 1393/2007 and Organic Act 4 of April 12, 2007.

The long history of awarding doctoral degrees, the commitment to research that underpins the founding principles of the University and is being continued by the current academic staff, the number of doctoral theses defended and resulting publications, as well as the theses that are currently under way, serve as justification for its continuation. At the same time, it is essential that the doctoral programs are adapted to the European Higher Education Area (EHEA) and the European Research Area (ERA), which underlie today's knowledge society. The Doctoral Degree in Arts and Humanities is carrying on the legacy of the doctoral programs in Literature, History, Linguistics, Art History, Classical Studies and Geography, and reflects a desire, which has already been put into practice, to develop interdisciplinary activities that contribute to better training for researchers. Over the past five years, 103 students have pursued these programs and a total of 64 theses have been defended.

Over the years, and under the new legislation and guidelines outlined within the framework of the European Higher Education Area, the School has strengthened its interdepartmental partnerships and promoted the creation of research groups (see Section 6.1.) with an interdisciplinary focus and international cooperation.

The following University of Navarra departments and centers participate in the development of the program:

Department of History, History of Art and Geography (School of Humanities and Social Sciences)

Department of Philology (School of Humanities and Social Sciences)

The program also enjoys the participation of professors and PhDs from other Spanish and foreign institutions, whether through the joint supervision of doctoral theses, leading seminars, mobility initiatives (for both PhD candidates and academic staff) or participation in thesis defense committees convened to award international/European doctoral degrees, etc.