Opus Dei


Library Building. Universidad de Navarra
31080 Pamplona

948 42 56 00 ext. 802088

Opus Dei

Opus Dei was founded on 2 October, 1928 by Saint Josemaría Escrivá de Balaguer. In the papal bull "Ut sit", 28 November 1982, John Paul II established Opus Dei as the first personal prelature of the Catholic Church, a legal status set out in the teachings of the Second Vatican Council.


Prelates of Opus Dei

Blessed Álvaro del Portillo

General President, 1975-1982   Prelate of Opus Dei, 1982-1994

Bishop Javier Echevarría

Prelate of Opus Dei, 1994-2016

Monsignor Fernando Ocáriz

Prelate of Opus Dei since 2017

Virtual library

CEDEJ virtual library is the most complete bibliographical source about the figure of St. Josemaria and Opus Dei

Log in


This site uses proprietary and third party cookies to enhance your user experience and show content related to your preferences. By using this website you consent to our use of cookies. For more information on cookies see our cookie policy.