Origin, Development and Purpose

The School of Theology at the University of Navarra started as a Theological Center in 1964. It was later elevated to the rank of an Institute in 1967 and erected by the Holy See as a School in 1969. Its academic degrees have full canonical and civil validity. The School's primary mission is to provide its students with comprehensive theological training; it also aims to train teachers and researchers in the sacred sciences. Its licentiate (postgraduate/master's) degree programs are divided into three specializations: Biblical Theology, Systematic Theology (Dogmatic Theology and Moral and Spiritual Theology Pathways) and Historical Theology (History of the Church and History of Theology Pathways).

See a list of the School of Theology's faculty members

Academic staff

  • Teaching and Research

    Teaching and research are organized according to a departmental structure. For its ordinary teaching, the School has three Departments (Sacred Scripture, Systematic Theology and Historical Theology), which are teaching and research units to which belong professors working in each area and students preparing their licentiate and doctoral dissertations in the corresponding subjects.

  • A modern and renowned University

    Studying at the School of Theology at the University of Navarra means receiving an education at a modern and renowned university at which Christian inspiration is not simply a fundamental idea, but guides and informs all the activities of the organization. Students live in an atmosphere of community with other students and knowledge areas, and can participate in interdisciplinary programs in areas such as Philosophy, Communication, Law, Canon Law, Bioethics and Information Technology.

  • Promotions and Student Aid Office

    The Promotions and Student Aid Office of the Schools of Ecclesiastical Studies at the University of Navarra aims to advise students so that, if needed, they can obtain financial aid and scholarships to help them afford their studies.