Notable Figures

Since it was founded in 1952, the teaching staff of the University of Navarra has included notable figures in different fields of knowledge.

Furthermore, important figures in the world of culture, economics, science and politics, in Spain and internationally, have passed through its classrooms as students.

  • • Alfonso Nieto, the first Full Professor of Media Management and a driving force behind university-level journalism studies in Spain.

    Nieto was the Director of the Institute of Journalism at the University from 1969 to 1972, and the first Dean of the School of Information Sciences (1972 to 1974).

    After serving as Vice President for two years (1977 to 1979), he was President until 1991. In 1990, he took over as Director of the Media Management department and continued his career as a professor and researcher.

    After forty years of dedication to the University, during which he was a professor for over 30 generations of journalists, Professor Nieto retired from teaching in 2002. He continued, however, his research work at the university.

    In 2002, he received the University's Gold Medal.

  • Álvaro D'Ors, Full Professor of Roman Law

    D'Ors began teaching at the University of Navarra in the 1961-1962 academic year and continued as an honorary professor after his official retirement in 1985. He was a man of deep religious beliefs and joined Opus Dei in 1949.

    During his first ten years in Pamplona, he was in charge of organizing the University's new Library Services, which was the culmination of what had been an ongoing task throughout his academic life. To this period belong his well-known creditum theory, his research in the field of social philosophy, which culminated in his auctoritas theory, as well as his most fruitful contributions in the fields of Roman Law, Canon Law, Epigraphy and Legal Methodology. In the years prior to the promulgation of the Compilation of Civil Law of the Region of Navarre in 1973, he was very actively involved in legislative work.

    His services as a university academic were officially recognized with the National Research Award (1972); the Cross of Alfonso X the Wise for teaching merit (1974); the Gold Medal from the University of Navarra (1990); the Humanities and Social Science award from Eusko Ikaskuntza – the Basque Studies Society (1996); the Grand Cross of St. Raymond of Peñafort (1998) and the Príncipe de Viana Culture Award (1999).

  • Eduardo Ortiz de Landázuri, a driving force behind the School of Medicine and the Clínica Universidad de Navarra

    In 1958, as the Vice President of the Universidad de Granada, Eduardo Ortiz de Landázuri moved to Pamplona to start the School of Medicine at what was then called the Estudio General de Navarra. His life was from then on linked to the University and the Clínica Universidad de Navarra.

    He was the Dean of the School of Medicine from 1962 to 1966 and from 1969 to 1978. From 1966 to 1969, he served as Vice President.

    He was also the Director of the Coordinated Medical Research Center of Pamplona, a member of the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC), a member of the Spanish Society of Internal Medicine (of which he was the President) and the Royal Society of Medicine of Great Britain, the French National Society of Gastroenterology and the Argentine Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics.

    Over the course of his extensive career, Dr. Ortiz de Landázuri received the Cross of Health, the Grand Cross of Alfonso X the Wise, and the Cross of the Order of Merit from the Federal Republic of Germany. Furthermore, the Navarra Medical Association named him Member of Honor in 1984 and, in 1985, he received the Couder y Moratilla Award from the Royal Academy of Medicine (Spain).

    He was the President of the Friends of the University of Navarra from 1978 until his death in 1985.  The cause for his canonization was started in Pamplona 13 years later.

  • Leonardo Polo, distinguished philosopher

    Leonardo Polo was among those who started the Section (later Department) of Philosophy at the University of Navarra. In addition to being a professor and teacher for numerous generations of students, he is a philosopher who has developed an original approach to some crucial philosophical questions.

Iñaki Gabilondo. Radio personality and news presenter.

Pedro Miguel Etxenique. Full Professor of Condensed Matter Physics and Basque Philology at the Euskal Herriko Unibertsitatea (EHU) and President of that university from 1996 to 2000; current director of the Donostia International Physics Center; and a Full Professor of Condensed Matter Physics at the University of Cambridge.

Mons. Juan Luis Cardenal Cipriani Thorne. Archbishop of Lima and Primate of Peru.

Ruth Kelly. Secretary of State for Transport and Local Government of the United Kingdom.

Emilio Cuatrecasas. Attorney.

Patxi Mangado. Professor at Harvard and recipient of several international awards.

Miguel d'Ors. Poet

Isabel Tocino. Former Spanish Minister of the Environment.

Useful links

Visit the University
University statement of core values
Central services